7 comments on “Walk to Emmaus… and Beyond!

  1. Phill, I was a table leader on Walk 120, Table of Peter. I want to say Amen. As a Table Leader I was honored to be part of the journey we all took together. Each time I return to Emmaus either working behind the scenes or in the conference room, I learn something new and to watch the transformation of each man according to God’s plan, is nothing short of spectacular. Thank you for being part of this journey and I pray that your 4th Days are all washed in the love of Christ.
    DeColores
    Darrell Pearson
    CAEW 68 This was my origional walk
    Table of Paul

  2. Phil,

    Thank you for sharing this. And know that you and Hilary are in my prayers and I too believe that God will make a way for you in your next steps and fourth days.

    Remember that crying and hugging your wife is always acceptable! Share the love you have experienced with her…she’ll receive it with joy!

    Blessings, Susan

  3. Thanks for sharing, Phil.

    I’m so excited to read how much the Walk meant to you. I will pray that God uses this experience to keep your worries away and to free your mind from the constraints that those worries bring. I’ve learned that without the stress, I can clear the hurdles … financial and otherwise … much more quickly. Clearing the hurdles, while still important, is immensely easier.

    Whatever you do … fight the good fight … enjoy the journey. The changes in me since my Walk have been slow but consistent. It takes time but God helps me get a little better every day. As God told the Israelites …

    “The LORD your God will clear away these nations before you little by little; you will not be able to put an end to them quickly, for the wild beasts would grow too numerous for you.”

    Deut 7:22

    “After you have suffered for a little while, the God of all grace, who called you to His eternal glory in Christ, will Himself perfect, confirm, strengthen and establish you.”

    I Peter 5:10

    If God had allowed me to change my entire heart in an instant, I wouldn’t appreciate the gift. As Joyce Meyer discusses in Battlefield of the Mind, the “Wild Beasts” of pride would multiply if I thought that it was I who cleared those hurdles away. Instead, God’s giving me a new victory each day/week/month/year … and they usually come after a failure. The failures remind me of how powerful his Grace is. Praise God!

    DeColores
    CAEW 91 (original walk)
    Table of John

  4. Phillip,
    My Prayers are with you. I know that God will bless you and your new Bride in all you do as long as you keep him 1st and keep your Prioroties in order.
    Can’t wait for a reunion to share our 4th day experiences.
    Don’t forget my invatation!
    DeColores
    David Burdette
    CAEW 120
    Table of Luke

  5. Phillip,
    As an Assistant Spiritual Director on Walk 120 (I’ve given each of the five grace talks more than once!) I want to share what happened the first time I served in this role seven years ago.
    Two months later I received an emergency call from a pastor friend who was called out of town because of a death in his family. He wanted me to preach for him on Sunday–and it was already the end of the week! So I decided to “amend” my Emmaus Talk for that sermon. As I walked into the pulpit that Sunday morning, the prayers from the Prayer Chapel were still active! What a humbling experience it is to walk into the Conference Room under a power that is not your own!
    De Colores!!
    CAEC Walk to Emmaus #44
    Table of Peter

  6. Amen, brother! I went on my walk at just the right time. Six months earlier, I’d probably not been ready and would have thought, “thanks, but that’s not for me.” There were a lot of big things at work in my life then, and while they were not “good” and I’d love to change them, they did prepare me for getting closer to God and really wanting to know Him better.

    My walk was great. It also rained and some activities had to be moved inside. Our SD, now my pastor, liked to say, “Remember your baptism and be glad!” I think of that when ever I find myself in the rain, now.

    It is truly amazing how much love is poured out on your during a walk, some of which you’ll never know about or from whom it came. I wish everone could experience this. I haven’t teamed or sponsored yet, but hope to in the future.

    Dave Self
    Southern Maryland Walk #19
    Table of Luke
    First UMC, Laurel, MD

Leave a Reply

